Vote On The Withdrawal Agreement

Here is a guide to what happens next on Parliament`s website. The Brexit Withdrawal Agreement, officially titled “Agreement on the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community”[3][4], is a treaty between the European Union (EU), Euratom and the United Kingdom (UK)[5], signed on 24 January 2020, which sets out the conditions for the United Kingdom`s withdrawal from the EU and Euratom. The text of the treaty was published on 17 October 2019[6] and is a renegotiated version of an agreement published six months earlier. The previous version of the Withdrawal Agreement was rejected three times by the House of Commons, leading Queen Elizabeth II to accept Theresa May`s resignation as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom and to appoint Boris Johnson as the new Prime Minister on 24 July 2019. On the 23rd. In October, the House of Commons debated three pieces of technical legislation on the UK`s withdrawal from the EU. The legislative debate focused on the repeal of certain technical provisions in UK law as far as the EU is concerned. If the vote for these three laws is passed, they will only come into force if the UK were to eventually leave the EU. The three points discussed concerned amendments to existing UK legislation to repeal 1) EU provisions on free movement[151][152] 2) regulatory oversight of the UK by third countries (EU)[153]3) EU-codified financial services rules. [154] The three amendments were put to a split vote, and all three were adopted in the House of Commons. [155] [156] [157] Emma Reynolds (Labour – Wolverhampton North East) (assistant voice to Pat McFadden) Sarah Champion, Rosie Cooper, Jon Cruddas, Toby Perkins.

About the author: walczyk